Established in 1874, the Universal Postal Union (UPU), with its headquarters in the Swiss capital Berne, is the second oldest international organization worldwide.
With its 192 member countries, the UPU is the primary forum for cooperation between postal sector players. It helps to ensure a truly universal network of up-to-date products and services.
In this way, the organization fulfils an advisory, mediating and liaison role, and provides technical assistance where needed. It sets the rules for international mail exchanges and makes recommendations to stimulate growth in mail, parcel and financial services volumes and improve quality of service for customers.

Kenya is a designated operator by the UPU.

Official name: Kenya

ISO Code 3166/Alpha-2: KE

Date of entry into the UPU: 27-10-1964

Designated operator: POSTA KENYA

1) General Regulations of the Universal Postal Union 1

2) Universal Postal Convention

3) Final Protocol to the Universal Postal Convention

4) Postal Payment Services Agreement

For any queries pertaining to these protocols and further clarifications please contact us on